CeeLo Green – the unmistakable voice and acclaimed songwriter behind skyscraper hits ‘Forget You’ and ‘Crazy’ – will receive an Outstanding Achievement Award at the 20th MOBO Awards in celebration of his stellar contribution to music of black origin. Past winners of this prestigious award include Sean Combs, Boys II Men and Mick Hucknall.

The American singer, rapper and record producer has achieved multi-platinum selling success with three different projects since 1991 – with Atlanta hip hop group Goodie Mob, as part of alt-R&B duo Gnarls Barkley, and finally as an accomplished solo artist.
CeeLo is best recognised worldwide for his hit with Gnarls Barkley ‘Crazy’, which spent a total of 11 weeks on top of the UK charts, becoming the first track to top the charts on download sales alone. The acclaimed artist followed up the success with his own solo chart-topper ‘F**k You’ (‘Forget You’) in 2010, taken from his Top 5 double platinum-selling album The Lady Killer. CeeLo returns in 2015 with a brand new album Heart Blanche (out on 6 November) featuring soulful tracks like ‘Robin Williams’, ‘Music to My Soul’ and ‘Sign of The Times’.

As a songwriter and producer, CeeLo has worked with an array of artists including Mark Ronson, Estelle, T.I., Outkast, Nas, Kelis, Danger Mouse, Solange, Pussycat Dolls and Jennifer Hudson.
CeeLo Green said: “I am honored by this acknowledgment especially so young in my career. And it is all the incentive anyone would need to continue doing what I love”.

CeeLo will perform an exclusive live set at the 20th MOBO Awards, bringing a touch of soul to the extraordinary line-up of home-grown performers which include FKA twigs, Naughty Boy, Krept & Konan, Rita Ora, Ella Eyre, Lianne La Havas, Stormzy and Lethal Bizzle.
This year’s sold out MOBO Awards are taking place on Wednesday 4th November and will be broadcast live at 8pm on ITV2 and repeated in full on ITV1 at 10:40pm. This will be the second year of the broadcast partnership between MOBO and ITV.